Sweaty Sheets: The Bed Frame Project

Poor timing for this project, being a very hot and humid day.

I haven’t had much recent luck with bed frames.  The one I had for over a decade (built to handle a waterbed), much neglected (the fasteners were slowly loosening); a bracket cracked, and eventually snapped off.

Enter the stand-in.  It was gifted to me in my time of need.  It wasn’t until I got it home when I realized that it was not going to work “out of the box”.  It required a foot board (one I did not have), and it assumed a one-piece box spring (due to my house I require a split box spring).  So I made it work, but I cursed the thing since day one, and every time my shin hit that makeshift foot board.

Until tonight.

Having thought of this ever since a coworker suggested it to me a few months ago, I wanted to build my own bed frame.  Something simple and sturdy.  My neighbour was around earlier today, so we made a trip to the hardware store for 3 2×6″, 3 2×4″ and 3 1×3″ (all 8′ long), as well as some 2″ and 3″ screws, and a paintbrush.

In reality, I would have needed a bit more lumber, but I had a few chunks lying around anyway that even though did not look the best, they can be hidden well.

Armed with a (no) Skil-Saw, cordless drill, and cordless impact gun, I put together the platform first.  The measurements for this is of the utmost importance (measure twice, cut once) so I got it out of the way first.  For those following along, I assumed the platform size of 60.5″ x 80.5″ (to give myself some play with the boxspring).

With that done, I worked on the base, I measured more than what was necessary except, it still came out about 4″ too wide!  Oh well, with the 2×6″ sides centered underneath the 2×4″ sides – as opposed to having a little bit hanging inside, it adds to the stability and my cross brace for later can still be satisfied by tacking on a couple spare 2×4’s on the inside.

Now to put the base and platform together …

P_20160716_172535
… harmony.

Next up is the box spring trim.  As you can see above, a first piece is tacked on, now to fit the other side, the foot, and then remove the sides to square off the head.

P_20160716_175625
Just about time to tear it all down.

Tear it down?  Well, if a one piece box spring cannot get up the stairs, neither can this while still in one piece.  Besides, I still have to Varathane the visible pieces.

P_20160716_182956
All torn apart, remaining pieces to the right.

(I know, my deck is a mess.)

I did three coats.  By the time I finished the first, the wood was ready for the second.  Had to wait a few minutes to start the third (watered some plants in the mean time), and then once the third coat was on, I left them for a few hours to dry.

P_20160716_192400
Back to tearing this apart …

Skirting in the wash, supper been had, now time to take out the trash!  You may notice the incline.  This is due to an acid reflux problem I sometimes have.  I am unsure as to whether I am to keep the incline.  I decided for it in the end.

Did I mention it must have been the hottest day in the summer thus far?  Humidex was at 40 degrees!  I was dripping in sweat outside, and now indoors (in spite of the open windows and the fan).

In getting it together sooner than later, I skipped a few pictures at this stage, but I unbolted the old frame, got it out of there, brought up the new frame piece by piece, screwed it back together, moved it around a few times (with the help of the roommate) to get to all sides, reinforced it with more screws, put the headboard back on and …

P_20160716_223410
… voila, it all fits.

Okay, final cleanup: put the incline back in under the box spring, get the mattress back on, and make the bed.

P_20160716_230233
All back to normal.

Finished at 11PM, time to turn in.

Sweaty Sheets: The Bed Frame Project

Leave a Reply

